The Wonders of Photoshop

June 28, 2009

Photography

This was the SOOC (Straight Out Of the Camera shot).

This was the SOOC (Straight Out Of the Camera shot).

I’ve been taking some photography classes.  My little pea brain now understands what white balance is.  It also knows it wants to FIX IT most times.  (This is where learning to like my camera better comes in…and I’m sure I will sooner or later..)  Meanwhile, I’m not as satisfied with the white balance that you get automatically from it most times.  So my quest this week will be to try to test out how and when to set it or change it as quickly as possible.  First I must figure out reliably where to do it each and every time!  That’s a different discussion though. 

In the meantime I thought I’d play with some old photos to see if I couldn’t do something with them because I’ve been doing the unheard of (for me) reading the Photoshop documentation. 

Scroll down a bit.  Check out the photos of the stout blue eyed grass I took vs the stout blue eyed grass my landscaper/photographry buff buddy took and I posted in the Pea Green With Envy post.  As you can see, my photo was terribly, terribly overexposed. 

 Well.  I’ve finally taken the time to putz around with Elements.  Miracle of miracles.  I figured out how to make it more acceptable.  Turn down the lights!  Now look at the difference.  I’m so happy now!  I’ve probably not done it the right way…but the picture looks so much better that I’m happy for now. Here it is below.                                    

 

 

 

 

 

 

Note to self.  Take a Photoshop Elements class too…

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “The Wonders of Photoshop”

  1. cherokeebydesign Says:

    Cant say I have ever used PhotoShop….I try to get the photo right the first time.

    I honestly believe most people use editting software to make-up for their lack of knowledge on how to take a great photo to start with.

    Raven
    http://cherokeebydesign.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  2. rsmallen Says:

    Raven, if I took photos like you I’d never (EVER) use Photoshop!! That’s why I’m taking the classes, sigh. It just doesn’t come naturally to me. But I aspire too…meanwhile, I can’t stand to look at the mistakes. So for me, Photoshop right now might be a good thing. Software I understand. This camera seems to elude me! I personally think I would be better off with one that is totally manual and I would be forced to figure it out.

    LOVE your blog! Thanks for reading!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

