I Love Fireworks!

July 10, 2010

Family, Photography



009, originally uploaded by Nanas House.

We headed out for the annual Community Days fireworks display by the local Exchange Club this evening. As every year, they put on a great display. Mike went out early today to check out a spot with a good view and no crowds so I could set up my new tripod and give the new E-PL1 a whirl.

Well. The tripod makes a huge difference I can tell you that! But tripod or not, fireworks are hard to photograph for me. The camera made it pretty easy…just put it in Fireworks mode. But I think I could have focused better…and I am a little disappointed in the color of the shots. All of them are posted on flickr, and you will see there’s lots of gold/white ones. However, there is one with blue, and one with some red. The colors were very washed out and the red was more like fuschia. I didn’t touch them up…I’d like to try to figure out why they are that way first.

I also think it takes far more eye/hand coordination than I have to get the shot timed just right. I tried to see if the remote cable for my 620 would work with it but I couldn’t get it to. Well, lots of room for improvement next year….and I’ll take some videos next time too.

We took Justin and the three of us camped there, uninterrupted and with ring side seats. We had great fun!

,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

