Mike Day 97: D-Day

May 26, 2011

Family, Health, Mike

At last it’s here…after 96 long days of hospitalization I get to bring Mike home!  I grocery shopped last night and brought home all ilk of fruit, juices, veggies and good for you stuff to eat.  I have the prescriptions in hand to drop off on the way to the hospital.  Nursing gave me my discharge instructions and filled me in with a vast array of tips for the day to management of his health.  We’ll make a couple stops on the way home today.  Hartzell’s for a BP machine and washable bed pads.  CVS to pick up the scripts.  Lunch.  Gas.  Then home to our little house.  I am so excited I could just bust!

Yesterday the therapies took me through Mike’s walking, stairs and daily exercises.  Last night the night nurses were saying their goodbyes to both Mike and me.  The staff at the rehab were like family members after almost 5 weeks…a truly caring and wonderful bunch of people.  There were an awful lot of hugs, well wishes and very misty eyes.  I will very much miss this group of professionals…and there are not words sufficient to express my gratitude to them for everything they have done to get Mike to this point! 

Best part yet relative to coming home? He’s on a regular diet…no more puree.  Speech gave him real food at lunch yesterday and he cleaned the entire plate.  With not a single reminder to swallow.  He just ate.  No muss, no fuss, no fooling around.  Ditto supper.  His mood was wonderful last night…perhaps because he wasn’t hungry. 

That’s it for now.  I have gotta get this show on the road and spring my honey from his medical exile.

, , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

