Things That Make You Go HMMMM….

October 21, 2011

Photography

Photography.  High on my list of the things that make me go hmmmm.  I’ve become convinced I really should just resurrect my little Brownie Starflash (c 1960 and in pristine condition w. box, booklet and unflashed bulbs.  One roll of undeveloped film…do you suppose I could buy a roll of film for it?) since it is probably just about the right speed for my feeble mind.  Something about all these F stops and shutter speeds simply escapes my feeble little mind.  I mean, intuitively, I know what they mean.  I know what they accomplish.  I’ve taken the classes.  It just doesn’t quite add up and translate to something executable.  KWIM?  Something just doesn’t CLICK for me. 

I’m shooting with the Olympus EPL2.  Or the EPL1.   I also have the E620 but no fast lenses for it.  Olympus has some mighty fine glass.  They are in our backyard and I like local companies and yes I do know their headquarters is Japan along with the rest of the electronics world.  Still.  They’re local to me as a lot of my friends work for them here.  Anyway.  Theoretically, I should get great photos!  Good equipment, reasonable knowledge and all other things being equal…and if not, there’s always the crop button in the software.  But I digress. 

What I really want is a nice shallow depth of field.  Yes.  I know.  I need a fast lens for that.  Until now the Pen lenses were not fast enough to do what I would like them to do. I think.  But now there’s a nice little 45mm 1.8 lens.  Sweet.  Well.  I did some quick photos.  I did not get the depth of field I imagined I should.  Or would.  I got some.  But not what I imagined.  Or hoped for.  I know it’s possible since a fellow in Malaysia named Robin Wong took some photos with his and got great shallow depth of field.  I went back to revisit his photos.  Ahhhh.  It was daylight.  I was shooting in automatic.  The aperture was wide open.  No wonder.  I think.  I noticed he seemed to be shooting either entirely in manual…or at least aperture control mode.  I gave it a shot.  Still not what I’m after. 

Bottom line, however, I think I need to just keep that lens on this camera and shoot with it every day, experimenting till I get what I want.  Nothing else will satisfy me.  I’ve thought about buying a different camera, different lenses etc.  But it makes no sense.  The problem is not the camera.  The camera is fine.  And I’m not good enough to know the finite reasons why x or y camera and its features might be superior.  The problem is my lack of figuring out how to do this.  I should just figure it out already.  And, since I covet the 12mm Pen lens, I guess I better get it down…right?  Or just have somebody who doesn’t say hmmmm take my photos.  Geez.    No.  I want the EP3 with its touch screen in all silver.  No.  I’ll figure it out. 

But for a while I’ll be scratching my head and saying hmmmm.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

